Content

Sometimes, and generally pretty often, we don’t get what we want in life. We don’t get the job we wanted, we don’t get the grade we wanted on the test, and sadly, we don’t always get the people in our life that we wanted. We don’t wake up on time, we run late, and we don’t remember or have time to do all things we wanted to do in one day.

This is okay! This is God saying He has something so much better. When we don’t make a good grade on a test, it’s His way of saying study harder next time. When we don’t get the job we “wanted more than anything”, it’s God turning us around and saying “hey, go this direction, instead; there is something so much greater this way”.

When we don’t wake up on time and are late to work or class, it can be embarrassing and frustrating. More often than not, it sets the tone for us to have a terrible day. Last week, I was late for work, and on the way, I saw a man and his just-wrecked truck on the side of the road. He had just hit a huge deer, and if I was on time that morning, that could have been me.

I find myself saying all too much that there aren’t enough hours in the day. When this happens, I often reflect on why I feel that way. I begin to think of the laughs I shared with my friends or the things I did, and it reminds me how lucky I am to pass time each day surrounded by wonderful people. If I miss out on a few hours of sleep because I was laughing until I cried… well, I think that is okay.

The hardest thing, however, is not getting the people we want. I think the best day of my life was realizing that if God takes someone out of your life, it’s because they taught you the lesson they needed to teach you and it was time for them to impact someone else. Be thankful for this. Smile, and remember what you learned from them and apply it to the current and future people in your life. Sooner or later, you’ll find more permanent people.

-SG

Leave a Reply

