Module 7

If someone was to ask me what content management system I recommend out of WordPress, Drupal, or Joomla, I would have to say WordPress. I have used WordPress multiple times, in my classes and for personal use. I have not used Drupal or Joomla, but from my experience with WordPress and the information found in Which content management system is right for you?, I can clearly see that WordPress is the best one available.

When it comes to installation and complexity, all three of the systems are fairly similar in style. WordPress has a minimal interface and a quicker installation time, though. It is also much easier to use. It has a reputation of being simple, and it lives up to that. It also uses easier to understand language, which is great for those who are just starting out on creating their own websites.

WordPress is also easy to upgrade. It can be done alone or with a small team of people. When there is an update available, WordPress will notify the user and they can opt to upgrade or not.

In reference to plugin and theme availability, WordPress has the most custom themes with 2176 and the most plugins with 28,593. These bigger numbers are also attributed to WordPress’ popularity. Also, this can help assure a user that if there are any problems, they will be fixed quickly because of the large network WordPress provides.

I enjoy using WordPress for my website, and I think that anyone else will, too!

Leave a Reply

