Module 11- Extra Credit

Search engine optimization is the process of improving a website for better search engine results. Web analytics and insight are implemented, along with making an aesthetically pleasing site architecture for those that visit the site. Content is often updated, along with an easier interface that provides for a better usability and design. Links are also incorporated to promote the site, drive traffic, and increase page rank.

I plan to use search engine optimization in my website. I will update content accordingly, make the website easy to interact with, and provide links to my other content online. Since I have other blogs, personal and educational, those would be good tools to have on my website for others to view, read, and possibly learn from. My name will be on all of the pages; that way, if the search engine brings a user to my page that is not the homepage, they will know the content belongs to me and is representative of me.

I don’t believe there are disadvantages of search engine optimization in the long run, but in the short run, it can be tiring to constantly update the page. However, once it is done, it will be better for those who are wanting to interact with the site and for the person with the site. I believe that people feel more comfortable contacting someone if they know their website is updated, and not something written years ago.

Leave a Reply

